Our campus network includes three parts: wired network, wireless network and VPN. The campus network export is provided service by four operators: China Telecom, China Unicom, China Mobile, and China Education and Research Computer Network. At present, the campus has basically covered by wireless network, including all dormitories, classrooms, meeting rooms, and part of outdoor public areas. The wireless network's SSIDs mainly includes the following four.

CUHK(SZ): provides Internet services for teachers, students, and faculty members of the school, and can access campus public resources and the Internet.

CUHK(SZ)-GUEST: provides visitors with Internet services, and can access part of the campus resources and the Internet.

CUHK(SZ)-Free: provides Internet services for visitors from great activities or open days.

eduroam: provides Internet services for visitors from scientific research and educational institutions, and can access campus public resources and the Internet. (eduroam supports IPv6 and IPv4 dual stacks. Teachers and students on campus can use eduroam if they need to access IPv6 networks.)

In the office area, classrooms and dormitories are equipped with wired network interfaces, and the wired network supports Gigabit. It is not recommended to use TP-LINK wireless router by yourself. If necessary, please use the pass-through mode without connecting to the WAN port. A VPN is required to access the campus network if not on campus. If you are in China, please enter the server address: vpn.cuhk.edu.cn. If not, please enter the server address: vpnhk.cuhk.edu.cn.

CUHK(SZ) adopts WEB+MAC address authentication. WEB authentication is required only after connecting to the network for the first time and modifying the CUHK(SZ) account password. After that, web authentication is not required for surfing the Internet for 180 days.

Determine whether the network card interface light is normal: If the interface light is not normal, you can use another terminal for testing to eliminate the problem of the terminal network interface card. If the network card and interface lights are normal, please refer to the figure below to check whether the IP address and DNS are obtained normally.

Determine whether it is an AP failure or too many terminals connected to a single AP. If multiple nearby terminals cannot be connected and the AP light is off or flashing quickly, it is generally an AP failure. If there are too many terminals connected to a single AP, switch to another AP or try to connect again later. If the AP displays normal or other users can connect normally, it may be necessary to re-do the WEB authentication.

WEB authentication website: https://wifi.cuhk.edu.cn

If the WEB authentication page cannot be opened, please check whether the IP address and DNS are automatically obtained and assigned normally. The school’s wireless network IPv4 address begins with 10.30. If the IP and DNS cannot be obtained, please change the location or the wireless AP to try to obtain the IP to troubleshoot the terminal.

First, test the internet speed. If you are on campus, please enter: 10.10.10.10 in your browser. This method can be used to test wireless, wired, VPN network speed, etc. Please refer to the figure below for test instructions. If you are not on campus, please enter in your browser: https://www.speedtest.cn/, and select Shenzhen for the speed test node.

The highest negotiation speed of the network card in the wireless network can reach 400 Mbps. For wired and wireless network, the domestic Internet access is 100Mbps downstream and 50Mbps upstream per terminal. (The above values are for reference only.)

The terminal network card model is relatively old. (can refer to the network card to negotiate the speed.)

There are many wireless network terminals under the same IP in classrooms, canteens, and large lecture halls, so the channel occupancy rate is high.

In the dormitories, the AP signal of network is easily obstructed by furniture. You can check whether the AP is obstructed by the cupboard or bed. Usually the wireless signal near the window is weaker.

Wireless network failure.

Wired network port and line quality problems.

Before ensuring that both IP and DNS can be obtained automatically, check whether there is packet loss. You can use the Packet Internet Groper method to observe packet loss and delay. If the packet loss is severe, it indicates that the quality of the access link is poor or the network card itself is faulty. The operation example is as follows:

If some domestic network resources are accessed slow or inaccessible, but can be accessed normally with 4G, it may be due to the limitation of the school's export link or the link needs to be optimized. Please contact ITSO in time.

If these network resources come from overseas websites, they are indeed inaccessible under the current national network security control. Please understand. If these resources come from our university's website or system, they can be resolved using the “three checks” method. ①Check whether the DNS is obtained automatically, if not, please change to obtain it automatically. ②Check whether it is connected to a VPN network outside the university. Please close the VPN network to access the university resources. ③Check whether to use a proxy, if yes, please manually turn off the proxy server, as shown below:

我校校园网包含有线网络、无线网络及VPN三大部分。校园网络出口由中国电信、中国联通、中国移动以及中国教育和科研计算机网四家运营商提供服务。目前校园已基本覆盖无线网络,包含所有宿舍,教室,会议室,和部分室外公共区域。无线SSID主要包括以下四个。

CUHK(SZ):为全校师生及教职工提供上网服务,可以访问校内公共资源和Internet。

CUHK(SZ)-GUEST:为日常访客提供上网服务,可以访问校内部分资源和Internet。

CUHK(SZ)-Free: 为重大活动或者开放日的访客提供上网服务。

eduroam :为科研和教育机构的访客提供上网服务。可以访问校内公共资源和Internet。(eduroam 支持IPv6和IPv4双栈协议。 校内师生如需要访问IPv6网络,可以使用eduroam。)

 

办公区域,教室和宿舍都设置了有线网络接口,有线网络支持千兆到桌面。不建议自行使用TP-LINK无线路由器。如有必要使用,请使用直通模式,不接WAN口。校外访问校内网络需使用VPN。如在境内,服务器地址请输入:vpn.cuhk.edu.cn。如在境外,服务器地址请输入:vpnhk.cuhk.edu.cn。

CUHK(SZ) 采用WEB+MAC地址优先认证。 首次连接网络及修改CUHK(SZ)账号密码后,才需要WEB认证,此后的180天上网不需要WEB认证。

判断网卡接口灯是否正常:如果接口灯不正常,可换一台终端测试,排除终端网卡的问题。如网卡和接口灯都正常:请参照下图查看IP地址和DNS获取是否正常。

 

判断是否是AP故障或者单个AP连接终端数过多。如果周围多个终端连接不上,AP灯不亮或者快闪,则一般为AP故障。如果单个AP连接终端数过多:换一个AP或者过一会再尝试连接。如AP显示正常或者其他用户可以正常连接:有可能需要重新WEB认证。

WEB认证页面网址:

http://controller-02.cuhk.edu.cn:8080/portal http://controller-03.cuhk.edu.cn:8080/portal

 

如果WEB认证页面无法打开,请检测IP地址和DNS是否自动获取,并正常分配。学校无线网络IPv4地址以10.30开头。如果无法获取IP和DNS,请换一个位置或者无线AP尝试获取IP,排除是否终端故障。

首先进行网速测试,如在校内,请在浏览器中输入:10.10.10.10。此方法可以用于无线,有线,VPN网速等的测试。测试说明请参考下图。如在校外,请在浏览器中输入:https://www.speedtest.cn/,测速节点请选择深圳。

 

无线网络中网卡的最高协商速度可以达到400Mbps。有线和无线网络国内Internet访问每终端下行100Mbps, 上行50Mbps。(以上数值仅供参考)。

  • 终端网卡型号比较旧,可以参考网卡协商速度。
  • 教室,食堂,大报告厅同一AP下无线网络终端数量多,信道占用率高。
  • 宿舍网络AP的信号容易被家具遮挡,可以检查AP是否被柜子或者床遮挡。通常靠窗的无线信号会比较弱。
  • 无线网络故障。
  • 有线网口和线路质量问题。

在确保IP和DNS都可以自动获取的提前下,检查终端是否丢包。可以用长Ping网关的方式,观察丢包和延迟情况。如果丢包严重,说明接入链路质量不佳或者网卡本身存在故障。操作示例如下:

如果部分国内的网络资源访问慢或者无法访问, 但用4G可以正常访问,可能原因是学校出口链路的限制或者链路需要优化。请及时联系ITSO处理。

 

如这些网络资源来自境外网站,在当前国家网络安全管控下,确实是无法访问的。请谅解。如这些资源来自校内网站或系统,可以使用“三查”方式解决。①检查DNS是否自动获取,如果不是请改为自动获取。②检查是否连接学校之外的VPN网络,请关闭VPN网络访问校内资源。③检查是否使用代理,如果时请手动关闭代理服务器,如下图: